Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Athletics Hall of Fame

Athletics Hall of Fame

The Athletics Hall of Fame was created in 2018 to honor student-athletes, coaches, teams and contributors who have impacted Moraine Valley Athletics. Every year, Moraine Valley will honor a new group of inductees with a ceremony and reception in the Health, Fitness & Recreation Center, where the Hall is located.

Moraine Valley Community College Athletics Hall of Fame criteria


  • Has been out of Moraine Valley for a minimum of five (5) years
  • Distinguished athletic career at Moraine Valley (All-Conference, All-Region, All-American, Skyway Player of the Year, leading scorer, nationally ranked, Player of the Week, etc.) in one or more intercollegiate sports
  • Made significant contributions to the success of the athletic program while at Moraine Valley
  • Consideration given to those who have demonstrated excellence beyond Moraine Valley either in sport, career or public service


  • Team has been out of Moraine Valley for a minimum of five (5) years
  • Demonstrated a high level of success on the playing field/course/court (outstanding win/loss record, school history ‘firsts,’ national rankings, unprecedented success within the college, conference, region or national records)
  • Won one or more championships
  • Teams should have brought prestige to Moraine Valley in their actions in and out of the athletic arena


  • Made significant contributions to the success of the athletic program while at Moraine Valley
  • Distinguished coaching career at Moraine Valley (school history ‘firsts,’ Skyway or Region Coach of the Year, led team to conference championships, region championships or nationals, etc.)
  • Departed Moraine Valley in good standing
  • Can be currently active if s/he coached continuously for 10 years or more


  • Made significant, positive and outstanding contributions of service, time, energy, or money to Moraine Valley Athletics and/or a team
  • Long period of support and service to the department and/or team
  • Can be currently active if s/he has been involved with Moraine Valley for 10 years or more

 Nominate someone or a team for the Athletics Hall of Fame here.

New in 2023 was the Athletics Hall of Fame Scholarship. All donations of any amount made to this scholarship will go directly to student-athletes in need to help them pay off tuition balances or purchase books and supplies in order to help them successfully graduate or transfer to a four-year college/university. We appreciate your support. Donate here.

2024 Inductees

Mark Horstmeyer (cross country coach, 2000-16)
Kara Kentner (volleyball player, 2012-14)
Sharnita Lloyd (basketball player, 2008-10)


2023 Inductees
Ryan Frederick (golfer, 2011)
Christina Neitzke-Troike (softball player, 1999, 2000)
Jordi Rangel (cross country runner, 2016, 2017)
Nicole Selvaggio (tennis player/coach, 2011, 2012/2013-16)
1980 Volleyball Team


2022 Inductees

Bill Antonion (basketball announcer, 1995-2015) - posthumously
Kyle R. Hastings (assistant basketball coach, 1983-85)
Michael Wojnarowski (tennis player, 2007)
Julie (Moore) Wurster (volleyball player, 1991-93)


2020 Inductees

Al Budding (baseball coach, 1987-2005)
Alex Duncan (soccer player, 2004-06)
Erin Duncan (soccer player, 2003-04)
Harvie Herrington (football player, 1990-92)
Shane O'Donoghue (basketball player, 1998-2000) - posthumously
Lisa Pollard (cross country runner, 1989-90) - posthumously
(photo gallery)


2019 Inductees

Gloria Coughlin (volleyball coach, 1989-2013)
Bob Freudenthal (golf coach, 1990-2016)
Bob Lanigan (basketball player, 1984-86)
Dennis Wierzal (first football coach, 1983-89)
Natalie Wigginton (softball and volleyball player/softball coach, 2005-07/2010-17)


2018 Inductees

Ephraim Eaddy (basketball player/assistant coach, 1996-98/2003-04)
Douglas C. Gehrke (first Athletics director, 1976-83)
Rosie Geraci (softball and volleyball player/softball coach, 1982-84/1994-2000)
LaVetta Mitchell (basketball player/assistant coach, 1987-89/2003-06)  
Kay Schneegas (women's athletic coordinator/coach, 1976-83)